The Kentucky Board of Chiropractic Examiners no longer offers a state practical examination for licensure. In lieu of a state examination, Kentucky now requires successful completion of Part IV of the National Board of Chiropractic Examiners’ examination.
Kentucky law DOES NOT provide for reciprocity from other states. Each applicant is required to have successfully completed Parts I, II, III and IV of the National Board of Chiropractic Examiners’ examination to obtain licensure in Kentucky. NBCE passing score is acceptable. Official NBCE transcripts are required.
Each applicant shall have satisfactorily completed not less than sixty (60) semester credit hours of study from a college or university accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools or other regional accrediting agencies as recognized by the United States Department of Education and the Council on Higher Education Accreditation. Courses that must be included in the 60 hours Pre-Chiropractic course work are listed on the application.
Each applicant shall also be a graduate of a college or university accredited by the Council on Chiropractic Education or their successors (at the time of the applicant’s graduation), and which maintains a standard and reputability approved by the board and meets the requirements of KRS 214.610 and KRS 214.615. A photocopy of your chiropractic college diploma must be attached to the application. A list of accredited chiropractic colleges can be found on the FCLB website.
The $350.00 non-refundable state licensure application fee must accompany your application.
If your license is issued on or before December 31 it will be subject to renewal prior to March 1 of the following year. This includes payment of the annual renewal fee and meeting the educational requirements for renewal.
Any license issued after January 1, 2008 will be required to complete the Kentucky State Chiropractic Jurisprudence course. This course will satisfy two of the twelve required continuing education hours. Please contact the Board office for more information on this course.
For your convenience, you may print, complete and sign this Application
(pdf . 96k) and mail directly to the Board office.
You must send the Chiropractic College Certification
(pdf . 32k) page to your chiropractic college for completion. Your application is not complete until this form is submitted directly from your chiropractic college.
Please read, sign and have notarized these Excerpts
(pdf . 110k) and return them to the Board office to complete your file. These are only excerpts from the Kentucky statutes and regulations and address problem areas with new licensees and frequently asked questions regarding license renewal, advertising, etc. You should read and be familiar with all of the statutes and regulations governing chiropractic in Kentucky. A link to these is available from the home page.
Please provide the Board with a letter from each of three individuals outside your immediate family, not necessarily chiropractors, who are personally acquainted with the applicant, stating that, to their knowledge the applicant is not addicted to intoxicants or drugs, has not had previous license(s) suspended or cancelled, has never been convicted of a felony or any other violation of federal, state or local laws, has no prosecution or complaints to a state board responsible for the licensing of chiropractors pending and is a person of good moral character and reputation and is worthy of professional recognition and confidence. The letters should include the individual’s address, phone number and occupation.
You are required to have each state in which you currently hold, or have ever held a license, submit a "Verification of Licensure" directly to the Board office. This verification must include the following information regarding your license: issue date, expiration date, current status and any disciplinary action(s) against your license.
All new applicants are required to obtain a two-hour Kentucky Cabinet for Health and Family Services approved HIV/AIDS course for initial licensure. Please contact CHFS at (502) 564-6539 or visit their website
to request a list of approved courses. If you are unable for a valid reason to complete this online course prior to the issuance of your license, you may complete and submit this Affidavit of Reasonable Cause
to obtain a six month extension within which to obtain this training.